Turn your daily steps into real money with these legitimate walking reward apps.
Getting paid to walk sounds too good to be true. But several legitimate apps actually reward you for steps you're already taking. The catch? Most pay very little. We're talking fractions of a cent per step.
These apps work because your attention and activity have real value. We reviewed the leading apps that pay you to walk and checked each one against its official site, help center or current US app store listing: what it rewards, how you cash out, the minimum payout, and whether it is still active in the United States. Below are the 7 that hold up in 2026, compared by payout options, minimum cashout and the earning limits each developer publishes.
For the complete picture of earning apps across all categories, see our guide to apps that pay real money.
Earn More Than Fractions of a Cent Per Step
VISU rewards verified check-ins at places you already walk past. When campaigns are active nearby, you can earn from short location-based actions during walks you already take.
How Walk-for-Money Apps Actually Work
Walking apps monetize your activity in a few common ways: ads and offers inside the app, research or insight programs (in some cases), and partnerships with health or wellness incentives.
Your earning potential depends on the revenue model. Ad-based apps can pay more but require more interaction. Data-based apps are more passive but pay less. Program-linked apps may pay more, but can require specific eligibility. Understanding how location-based rewards work helps you see why some models pay better than others.
The key principle is simple: your attention and activity have real value to advertisers and researchers. Walking apps let you capture a small piece of that value. Combine your walks with rewards at local gyms and wellness centers for even more earnings.
7 Apps That Pay You to Walk, Compared by Rewards, Payout Options and Minimum Cashout
Each app below was checked against its official site, help center or current US app store listing in September 2026. For every app we list what it rewards, how you get paid, the minimum payout and any earning rate or daily limit the developer publishes. Where a company does not publish a number, we say so instead of guessing: real rates change often and depend on your location, device and activity. Apps that pay cash (bank transfer or PayPal) come first; gift-card apps follow.
1. Sweatcoin
Earnings: 1 sweatcoin per 1,000 verified steps, minus a 5% commission (so 10,000 steps = 9.5 sweatcoins). The free plan counts up to 10,000 steps a day; Premium counts up to 20,000, capped at 100 sweatcoins a day.
Payout: Marketplace offers, donations and an opt-in crypto token. PayPal cash is not a standard redemption option.
Minimum payout: No fixed cash threshold; each marketplace offer has its own price in sweatcoins.
Sweatcoin tracks steps and converts them into an in-app currency you can spend on rewards in its marketplace, and remains active in the US. Compare it with similar apps in our Sweatcoin vs Mistplay breakdown.
2. Evidation (formerly Achievement)
Earnings: Up to 40 points a day across five categories (8 per category: walking, sleep, exercise, vitals, nutrition). 10,000 points = $10.
Payout: Bank transfer, PayPal, gift card or charitable donation.
Minimum payout: $10 (10,000 points).
Evidation rewards daily activities like walking, sleeping and exercise, and ties earning to participation in health research programs. It is one of the few walking apps that pays real money to PayPal or a bank account rather than only gift cards. US residents only, 18+. Daily activity points are capped, so treat it as a slow, steady side stream rather than a quick payout.
3. WeWard
Earnings: Fixed daily step goals: 2,500 steps = 1 Ward, 5,000 = 3, 10,000 = 8, 15,000 = 13, 20,000 = 23, up to 25 Wards a day with the bonus star.
Payout: Bank transfer (PayPal and Venmo are listed on the US site), gift cards, donations and sweepstakes.
Minimum payout: Not publicly stated; reward catalog and thresholds vary by country. Transfers arrive within 15 days.
WeWard converts daily steps into Wards and lets you cash out instead of only spending in a marketplace. Active in the United States. If cash is what you want from a walking app, this is the one to compare against the walking apps that pay straight to PayPal.
4. Macadam
Earnings: Not publicly stated (steps convert to in-app credit).
Payout: Bank transfer or donation.
Minimum payout: Not publicly stated.
Macadam, from a Barcelona developer, is live on the US App Store and Google Play and states that steps "convert into real money" you can transfer to your bank account. It publishes no rate or cap, so check the in-app terms before relying on it.
5. CashWalk
Earnings: Coins for every step, counted up to 10,000 steps a day on iOS and up to 20,000 on Android.
Payout: Gift cards from major brands.
Minimum payout: Not publicly stated.
CashWalk is a free lock-screen step counter that turns daily steps into coins redeemable for gift cards, per its official listings. It is light on battery and works well as a background app in a stack.
6. Winwalk
Earnings: 1 coin per 100 steps, up to 100 coins a day (10,000 steps).
Payout: Gift cards (Amazon, Walmart, Google Play and others).
Minimum payout: Not publicly stated.
Winwalk is a free, ad-supported pedometer on Android that converts steps to coins redeemable for gift cards, with no account or email required. The daily cap prevents gaming but also limits upside. Good for casual walkers who want a reliable baseline.
7. Paceline
Earnings: Pacepoints for elevated heart-rate activity; you need at least 50 minutes a week to earn, and 150 minutes keeps a streak.
Payout: Gift cards, offers and products in the Paceline marketplace. Points have no cash value.
Minimum payout: Not publicly stated.
Paceline rewards activity tracked through a wearable (elevated heart-rate minutes, strength workouts and daily steps), and redemption happens in its marketplace of health and fitness brands. Brisk walking and workouts count more than casual steps, so it works best with a watch.
VISU: Get Paid While You Walk, Without Counting Steps
Every app above pays for the steps themselves, which is why the numbers are small. VISU takes the other route: it does not count steps, it pays for what you do along the way. You scan VISU QR codes at partner cafes, stores, restaurants and events on your route, engage with brief content, and earn rewards under each campaign's rules. Short, high-value actions instead of fractions of a cent per step.
That makes it a complement, not a replacement: keep a pedometer app running for the steps, and add VISU check-ins for the places you already pass. How VISU rewards work explains the mechanics.
Note: Rewards, minimums and availability vary by city and campaign. Check the app to see what is active near you before counting on it.

Wager-Based Challenge Apps (18+, Financial Risk)
Two well-known services pay out for walking-related goals but are not listed above, because you put your own money at risk and can lose it. They are not a recommendation; they are here so you know what they are when you see them in other lists.
StepBet
You bet on hitting personalized step goals and split the pot with everyone who succeeds. Most bets are $40, StepBet keeps 15% of the pot in standard games, and payouts go to PayPal or a US check with a $10 fee. Miss a weekly goal and the stake is gone. 18+.
HealthyWage
A weight-loss wager, not a step app: you commit $5 to $995 a month for 6 to 18 months, the prize range is quoted up front, and weight is verified twice. Walking is often the main activity, but the payout depends on verified weight loss. Available in the US and several other countries.
What We Left Out, and Why
- Charity Miles — walking funds donations to charity rather than paying you. A good motivator, but not an earning app.
- Runtopia — the developer's listing describes redemption through a "Lucky Wheel" game, so rewards are chance-based; we excluded it until the rules and eligibility of that mechanic are validated.
- Miles — the developer announced the app shut down on May 14, 2025.
- Lympo — the original step-rewards app was discontinued and the site is offline.
- Stepler, Fitcoin, Optimity, Walkify — either no cash-out for US users, a non-US program, or no developer-stated rewards; not enough to list.
Walking Apps Comparison Table: Earnings, Payout Type and Minimum Payout
| App | What You Earn (stated rate) | Payout Type | Minimum Payout | US Availability | Effort Level |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Sweatcoin | 1 sweatcoin per 1,000 steps (5% fee); free plan counts 10,000 steps/day | Marketplace offers, donations | No fixed threshold | Yes | Low (passive) |
| Evidation | Up to 40 points/day; 10,000 points = $10 | Bank transfer, PayPal, gift cards, donation | $10 | US only, 18+ | Low (passive) |
| WeWard | 1 to 25 Wards/day by step goal | Bank transfer (PayPal/Venmo on US site), gift cards | Not publicly stated | Yes | Low (passive) |
| Macadam | Not publicly stated | Bank transfer, donation | Not publicly stated | Yes | Low (passive) |
| CashWalk | Coins per step, up to 10,000 (iOS) / 20,000 (Android) steps/day | Gift cards | Not publicly stated | Yes | Low (passive) |
| Winwalk | 1 coin per 100 steps, max 100 coins/day | Gift cards | Not publicly stated | Android only | Low (passive) |
| Paceline | Points for 50+ elevated heart-rate minutes/week | Gift cards, offers, products | Not publicly stated | Yes | Medium (elevated HR) |
Own a business? VISU helps restaurants, retail stores, and events turn customer attention into revenue. See how businesses use VISU →
What You Can Realistically Earn From Walking Apps
No walking app replaces an income. The developers' own published rates make the ceiling clear: Sweatcoin's free plan stops counting at 10,000 steps a day, which is 9.5 sweatcoins spent in a marketplace rather than paid in cash. Evidation caps daily activity at 40 points and pays $10 per 10,000 points. WeWard tops out at 25 Wards a day, and Winwalk at 100 coins. Most people who run three or four passive apps at once end up with a few gift cards or a small PayPal cash-out per month, not a paycheck.
Two things move the needle more than adding another pedometer app. First, choosing apps that pay cash instead of only gift cards (Evidation and WeWard, in this list). Second, adding a second stream that does not depend on step count, such as location-based rewards for actions along your route.
Walking apps work best when combined with other low-effort methods. For completely passive options that don't require physical activity, see our guide to passive income apps. If you prefer quick tasks over step counting, explore apps that pay for small tasks. You can also add survey apps during breaks for additional earnings.
How to Maximize Walking App Earnings
Stack multiple apps
Most walking apps do not conflict. Run Sweatcoin, Evidation, and Winwalk simultaneously so the same steps earn across multiple platforms. If you would rather pick one and stick with it, the side-by-side comparison puts their real payouts next to each other. Then add location-based reward apps during your route for a second stream that does not depend on step count. You can also stack with apps that pay to watch videos during rest breaks.
Plan routes strategically
If you use location rewards alongside step trackers, walk routes that pass participating locations. A 30-minute walk through a commercial area with check-in opportunities can complement a longer walk through residential areas. This approach also works well with store visit apps.
Use a fitness tracker
Apps like Evidation and Paceline perform better with wearables (Apple Watch, Fitbit, Garmin) than phone-only tracking. Wearables capture more steps accurately and reduce phone battery drain.
Do not cheat
Walking apps detect fraud. GPS spoofing and step generators lead to bans. The long-term payoff is consistency, not tricks.

Walking Apps to Avoid
Some patterns are consistent red flags. Avoid apps that require upfront payment to join a "premium" program, promise implausibly high earnings from steps alone, have minimal reviews or consistent complaints about non-payment, or request excessive permissions.
Treat required deposits, guaranteed returns, unclear payout terms, and permissions unrelated to the app's function as warning signs. Wager-based challenge apps are a separate category: they can pay more, but you can also lose your stake, so read our note on no-risk money-making apps before putting money in. For more on identifying legitimate earning apps, see our guide on how to verify if reward apps are legitimate.
Start Earning From Your Daily Walks
Location-based rewards depend on active campaigns near you. Check the app to see what is available along your usual routes.
FAQ: Apps That Pay You to Walk
How many steps do I need to earn money?
Most apps have no minimum, but practical earnings start around 5,000+ daily steps. At 8,000-10,000 steps daily, you will maximize most apps' earning potential without hitting daily caps.
Which walking apps pay real money to PayPal?
Evidation (PayPal or bank transfer, $10 minimum, US only), WeWard (bank transfer, with PayPal and Venmo listed on its US site) and StepBet (PayPal, but only as winnings from a bet you placed). Sweatcoin does not offer PayPal cash as a standard redemption; CashWalk, Winwalk and Paceline pay in gift cards or products. See the full list of apps that pay instantly to PayPal.
Do walking apps drain my phone battery?
Moderately. Apps using GPS drain more than accelerometer-only apps. Running 3-4 walking apps can add roughly 10-15% daily battery use. A fitness tracker reduces phone dependency.
Can I use walking apps on a treadmill?
Some apps count treadmill steps, while others require outdoor GPS movement. Carrying your phone while on a treadmill improves accelerometer tracking. Check each app's rules.
Are walking app earnings taxable?
Tax rules vary by country and by payout type. In the US, platforms may issue tax forms depending on reporting rules and your activity. Availability also changes by country, and we cover walking apps that pay in Australia in a separate guide. Keep records of payouts and consult a tax professional if your rewards become meaningful.
Which walking app pays the most per step?
Pure step apps pay very little per step, and most publish a daily cap. The highest payouts usually come from wager-based challenge models (StepBet, HealthyWage), where you risk your own money, or from hybrid strategies that combine step tracking with location-based rewards for actions during your walk.
Are walking apps worth it?
Yes, if you already walk regularly. Earnings are modest, but require zero extra effort. Think of it as monetizing something you already do, not as a primary income source.
References
- Sweatcoin Help Center: steps-to-sweatcoin conversion, 5% commission, daily limits on Free and Premium plans
- Evidation Help Center: 40 points per day, 10,000 points = $10, payout methods and US-only eligibility
- WeWard, official site and FAQ: daily step goals in Wards, bank transfer and gift card rewards
- Macadam, US App Store listing: steps converted to money transferable to a bank account
- CashWalk, US App Store listing: coins per step up to 10,000 steps a day, gift card rewards
- Winwalk, Google Play listing: 1 coin per 100 steps, 100 coins daily cap, gift card catalog
- Paceline, official site and rewards terms: 50 elevated heart-rate minutes a week, Pacepoints with no cash value
- StepBet FAQ and rules: typical $40 bet, 15% pot fee, PayPal and check payouts, 18+
- HealthyWage FAQ: wager ranges, prize calculator, weight verification, supported countries
- Runtopia, US App Store listing: rewards redeemed through the Lucky Wheel game